A. Armonaitė and the Ministers of Germany, Latvia and Estonia Have Agreed to Cooperate on Innovation and Digital Transformation


2023 11 24

inovaciju klubas.jpg

During her visit to Germany, the Minister of Economy and Innovation Aušrinė Armonaitė attended the first meeting of the Innovation Club and signed an agreement on cooperation in the field of digitalisation and innovation with the Ministers of Germany, Latvia and Estonia.

The Innovation Club, to which Germany and the Baltic States belong, was set up on the initiative of Volker Wissing, the German Minister for Digital and Transport. The aim of the Club is to share knowledge and best practices in the field of digitalisation between the countries and to cooperate on proposals for the EU’s digital agenda.

‘The digital and artificial intelligence revolution has begun. I would compare it to a river that we can no longer dam, so we have to learn to navigate in it. There are three things that matter to us: security and infrastructure, openness and open data, and investment in AI. Cooperation between the three Baltic States and Germany can be a major impetus to the changes in the European Union’s policy in this area,’ says Aušrinė Armonaitė, the Minister of the Economy and Innovation.

The Innovation Club is an informal working group of innovative EU Member States looking for the ways to accelerate policy decisions and implementation in the field of digital transformation and innovation.

The aim is to make the complex and over-regulated digital agenda flexible, efficient and innovation-friendly, regulating only what is essential to ensure technological development in line with the core values of Europe.

The countries of Innovation Club presented their proposals and discussed smart digital infrastructure, the data economy, digital skills, digital public services, cybersecurity and other issues. 

The agreement was signed in Germany by the Ministers responsible for digitalisation and innovation from the Innovation Club countries: Volker Wissing, the Minister for Digital and Transport (Germany), Aušrinė Armonaitė, the Minister of the Economy and Innovation (Lithuania), Inga Bērziņa, the Minister for Environmental Protection and Regional Development (Latvia), and Tiitas Riisalo, the Minister for Economic Affairs and Information Technology (Estonia).

The document signed in Germany will be further developed at expert level in the countries and will be used as the basis for formulating and presenting concrete proposals for the new Digital Agenda. A full version of the document is expected to be ready in spring or early summer 2024 and sent to the European Commission.